DUI Penalties In Illinois: Do You Know What They Are?
The state of Illinois takes driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or controlled substances very seriously. Lawmakers have passed various laws over the years to penalize those who get behind the wheel while under the influence. Here are several laws you may not be aware of:
Steep Drivers’ License Reinstatement Fees
Many drivers facing a DUI will get their driver’s license suspended or revoked. The period will always depend on individual circumstances. However, to get a license reinstated, drivers could be required under the law to pay up to a $500 fee.
A BAC Below .08 Can Still Result In DUI Charges
Drivers who have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher will be arrested for and charged with drunk driving. But those found driving with a BAC between .05 and .08 can still face a DUI charge if the officer deems the driver was operating a vehicle while impaired.
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) Requirements And Fees
In the state of Illinois, DUI offenders — even first-time offenders — who are eligible to receive a limited driving permit to drive from work or school must install a BAIID on all vehicles that are registered in their name. The device will read a driver’s BAC content before allowing a driver to operate the vehicle.
However, the costs associated are not cheap. The initial installation fee is $85 and monthly rental and monitoring fees are over $100.
Helping To Mitigating These Penalties
Drivers facing DUI charges likely have a host of questions, concerns, and fears. If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving in Berwyn, Illinois, or any of the surrounding counties, we invite you to reach out to our team of attorneys at Diaz Case Law to find out how we can help defend your charges and mitigate serious penalties you could face. Our criminal defense lawyers are ready to defend you.
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.